November 8, 2021


The Archdiocese of Philadelphia’s Office of Catholic Education recently recognized 65 parish and regional elementary schools as 2021 Archdiocesan Schools of Distinguished Instruction.

Dr. Andrew McLaughlin, Secretary for Elementary Education for the Archdiocese of Philadelphia said, “Along with my colleagues in the Office of Catholic Education and our valued partners, I am proud of our schools for achieving excellence, especially in light of the COVID-19 related challenges of the past two academic years.” Dr. McLaughlin continued, “We thank all of our administrators, teachers, parents, and students. They are a testament to the power of collaboration in Catholic education and the academic milestones they achieved are outstanding.”

Twenty-three schools were recognized for Growth and Exceeding Potential. Recognition for Growth was determined by comparing the Normal Curve Equivalent (NCE) score from this year’s testing to the NCE examinations taken by students in the previous academic year.

Recognition for Exceeding Potential was determined by analyzing the data from the ability testing (InView) and the achievement testing in which schools were found to have 90% of the classes meeting or exceeding their potential in all content areas at every level tested.

Recognition for Growth and Exceeding Potential

Our Lady of Mount Carmel Catholic Elementary School (Doylestown, Bucks County)

Pope John Paul II Regional Catholic Elementary School (West Brandywine, Chester County)

Saints Peter and Paul School (West Chester, Chester County)

Saint Elizabeth Parish School (Chester Springs, Chester County)

Saints Colman – John Neumann School (Bryn Mawr, Montgomery County)

Saint Cecilia School (Philadelphia County)

Saints Philip and James School (Exton, Chester County)

Maternity B.V.M. Catholic Elementary School (Philadelphia County)

Resurrection Regional Catholic School (Philadelphia County)

Saint Katherine of Siena Catholic School (Philadelphia County)

Saint Aloysius Parish School (Pottstown, Montgomery County)

Mother Teresa Regional Catholic School (King of Prussia, Montgomery County)

Holy Trinity School (Morrisville, Bucks County)

Saint Katharine Drexel School (Holland, Bucks County)

Holy Family School (Phoenixville, Chester County))

Saint Norbert Catholic School (Paoli, Chester County)

Holy Cross Catholic School (Springfield, Delaware County)

Saint Dorothy School (Drexel Hill, Delaware County)

Holy Redeemer School (Philadelphia County)

Saint Anselm School (Philadelphia County)

Saint Matthew School (Philadelphia County)

Visitation B.V.M. (Trooper, Montgomery County)

Presentation B.V.M. School (Cheltenham, Montgomery County)


Twenty-eight schools were recognized for Growth

Saint Jude School (Chalfont, Bucks County)

Saint Patrick School (Malvern, Chester County)

Cardinal John Foley Regional Catholic School (Havertown, Delaware County)

Our Lady of Calvary Catholic School (Philadelphia)

Saint Laurentius Catholic School of the Arts and Sciences (Philadelphia)

Our Lady of Grace Catholic Elementary School (Penndel, Bucks County)

Saint Charles Borromeo School (Bensalem, Bucks County)

Saints Simon and Jude School (West Chester, Chester County)

Saint Agnes School (West Chester, Chester County)

Saint Joseph School (Downingtown, Chester County)

Saint Maximillian Kolbe School (West Chester, Chester County)

Saint Pius X School (Broomall, Delaware County)

Saint Anastasia School (Newtown Square, Delaware County)

Saint Eugene School (Primos, Delaware County)

Saint Katharine of Siena School (Wayne, Delaware County)

Saint Ignatius of Antioch School (Yardley, Bucks County)

Saint Isidore School (Quakertown, Bucks County)

Saint Laurence School (Upper Darby, Delaware County)

Saint Francis de Sales School (Philadelphia County)

Saint George Independent Catholic School (Philadelphia County)

Saint Jerome School (Philadelphia County)

Saint Mark School (Bristol, Bucks County)

Saint Pio Regional Catholic School (Philadelphia County)

Saint Andrew School (Drexel Hill, Delaware County)

Saint Bernadette School (Drexel Hill, Delaware County)

Saint Luke Catholic School (Glenside, Montgomery County)

Saint Francis Xavier School (Philadelphia County)

Saint Peter the Apostle School (Philadelphia County)


Fourteen schools were recognized for Exceeding Potential

Saint Andrew School (Newtown, Bucks County)

Immaculate Heart of Mary School (Philadelphia County)

Saint Genevieve School (Flourtown, Montgomery County)

Saint James Regional Catholic School (Ridley Park, Delaware County)

Our Mother of Consolation Parish School (Philadelphia County)

Corpus Christi Catholic School (Lansdale, Montgomery County) 

Our Lady of Hope of Catholic School (Philadelphia County)

Saint Hilary of Poitiers School (Rydal, Montgomery County)

Queen of Angels Regional Catholic School (Willow Grove, Montgomery County)

Mater Dei Catholic School (Lansdale, Montgomery County) 

Saint Albert the Great Catholic School (Huntingdon Valley, Montgomery County)

Saint Francis of Assisi School (Springfield, Delaware County)

Notre Dame de Lourdes Catholic School (Swarthmore, Delaware County)

Saint Mary Catholic School (Schwenksville, Montgomery County)

# # #


Editor’s Note:

For additional information on Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia, please visit



Meredith Wilson
Media and Events Specialist