Bookmark and Share

March 21, 2012

Historic move signals the creation of the first Archdiocesan Pastoral Council in Philadelphia

Archbishop Charles J. Chaput, O.F.M Cap., recently met with the newly founded Pastoral Council of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia. The Pastoral Council is an advisory group to the Archbishop that examines the pastoral activities of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia and offers practical counsel to promote the mission of the Church.

While similar councils exist in parishes throughout the Archdiocese, this is the first time that an Archbishop of Philadelphia has established a Pastoral Council for the entire Archdiocese.

Archbishop Chaput said, "The council we now have in place is a local snapshot of the whole People of God, with intelligent, dedicated Catholics from every walk of life. In both of my previous places of ministry as bishop - Rapid City and Denver - the diocesan pastoral council was a vital source of collaboration and help in my work. I look forward to the same good working friendship with council members here in Philadelphia."

The Archdiocesan Pastoral Council consists of Archbishop Chaput and four additional administrators from the Archdiocese who serve in an ex-officio capacity, as well as up to 30 members selected from around the Archdiocese. Some are nominated by particular Deaneries. Others are appointed "at large." The Council currently includes 12 lay women, 11 lay men, one priest, one deacon, and one consecrated religious woman.

In addition to the Archbishop, those serving in an ex-officio capacity include:

Auxiliary Bishop Timothy Senior, Moderator of the Curia; Monsignor Daniel Sullivan, Vicar for Clergy; Mr. Timothy O'Shaughnessy, Chief Financial Officer*; and Mr. Francis X. Maier, Special Assistant and Senior Adviser to the Archbishop.

Members nominated and selected from around the Archdiocese include:

Mr. Edward "Jody" Arena, Ms. Tonya Banks, Saint Cyprian Parish, Philadelphia; Mrs. Bernadette Brooks, Saint Mary Magdalen Parish, Media; Dr. James Callahan, Saint Matthias Parish, Bala Cynwyd; Ms. Sarah Cardie, Saint Francis of Assisi Parish, Springfield; Mr. Dennis Carey, Ms. Dawn Chism, Saint Francis de Sales Parish, Philadelphia; Mr. Bernard Cory, Saint Anselm Parish, Philadelphia; Ms. Laura Endara-Manteilla, Maternity B.V.M. Parish, Philadelphia; Ms. Cynthia Fedele, Mater Dolorosa Parish, Philadelphia; Mr. Jorge Ignacio-Fernández, Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish, Buckingham; Deacon Dennis Friel, Resurrection of Our Lord Parish, Philadelphia; Mrs. Ann Giunta, Saint Agnes Parish, West Chester; Ms. Barbara Inforzato, Saint Thomas Aquinas Parish, Philadelphia; Ms. Marie Joseph, Saint Ignatius of Antioch Parish, Yardley; Ms. Connie McCalla, Saint Raymond Parish, Jenkintown; Sr. Anne Patricia Myers SSJ, Congregational President, Sisters of Saint Joseph; Mr. Rocco Palmo, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, Philadelphia; Mr. Michael Shank, Saints Philip and James Parish, Exton; Ms. Maria Stumpf, Mary, Mother of the Redeemer Parish, North Wales; Monsignor Joseph Trinh, Pastor, Saint Helena Parish, Philadelphia; Mr. Andrew Vu, Saint Helena Parish, Philadelphia; Ms. Mary Beth Walsh, Saint Bernadette Parish, Drexel Hill; Mr. Damian Wargo, Saint Madeleine Sophie Parish, Philadelphia; Mr. Ronald Watson, Saint John the Baptist Parish, Ottsville; and Mr. Michael Yasick, Saint Elizabeth Parish, Upper Uwchlan.


Editor's Note: The newly formed Archdiocesan Pastoral Council was a topic in Archbishop Chaput's most recent weekly column, which was published today. His columns can be found each week on and can also be found at

*Mr. O'Shaughnessy's appointment as Chief Financial Officer becomes effective April 16, 2012.

Kenneth A. Gavin
Associate Director of Communications

Back to Top