Bookmark and Share

December 17, 2009


Cardinal Justin Rigali, Archbishop of Philadelphia, announces that Pope Benedict XVI has conferred Papal Honors on eighteen priests of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia. All receive the title of "Monsignor," an honor for the priests themselves, the parishes and people they serve, and the whole Archdiocese.
There are three ranks of Monsignor, two of which are Prelate of Honor and Chaplain of his Holiness. Diocesan priests receive the honor from the Pope, at the request of the diocesan bishop, in recognition of their contribution to the local Church through the distinguished exercise of their priestly ministry. This honor for the priest is a symbol of his deep communion with the Holy Father and his apostolic ministry.
Fourteen priests were honored with the title of Chaplain of His Holiness. Three priests were named Prelates of Honor. One priest, already a Chaplain of His Holiness, was elevated to Prelate of Honor. Among those honored is the oldest priest in the Archdiocese, Reverend Monsignor Daniel J. Kehoe, who is 97 years old and was ordained in 1939.
Cardinal Rigali said, "This honor bestowed by our Holy Father is a blessing for the Archdiocese of Philadelphia. It holds special significance during this Year of the Priest, a time for priests to grow in holiness and live more fully united to the Sacred Heart of Jesus, and for all the members of the Church to recall the essential role of priests among us and in society."
Cardinal Rigali will preside at Vespers on Sunday, January 17, 2010 at 5:00 p.m. in the Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul during which the Papal Honors will be acknowledged. Everyone is welcome.

Prelates of Honor

Reverend Monsignor Daniel J. Kehoe - Pastor Emeritus, Holy Spirit Parish, Sharon Hill, Delaware County
Reverend Monsignor Donald E. Leighton - Pastor, St. John Baptist Vianney Parish, Gladwynne, Montgomery County
Reverend Monsignor Michael C. Picard - Pastor, St. Andrew Parish, Newtown, Bucks County

Chaplain of His Holiness named Prelate of Honor

Reverend Monsignor Nelson J. Perez - Pastor, St. Agnes Parish, West Chester, Chester County


Papal Honors (cont'd):

Chaplains of His Holiness

Reverend Monsignor Ralph J. Chieffo - Pastor, St. Mary Magdalene Parish, Media, Delaware County
Reverend Monsignor Anthony J. D'Angelico - Pastor, Our Lady of Good Counsel, Southampton, Bucks County
Reverend Monsignor David E. Diamond - Vice-Rector, St. Charles Borromeo Seminary
Reverend Monsignor Paul A. DiGirolamo -Assistant Juducial Vicar, Metropolitan Tribunal of the Archdiocese/Pastor, Old St. Mary's Parish, Philadelphia
Reverend Monsignor Joseph P. Gentili - Pastor, Our Lady of Guadalupe, Buckingham Twp, Bucks County
Reverend Monsignor Charles H. Hagan- Pastor, Our Lady of Mt. Carmel Parish, Doylestown, Bucks County
Reverend Monsignor Kevin C. Lawrence - Regional Vicar for Philadelphia-South/Pastor, St. Malachy Parish, Philadelphia
Reverend Monsignor Joseph L. Logrip - Regional Vicar for Philadelphia-North/Pastor, Mother of Divine Grace Parish, Philadelphia
Reverend Monsignor George A. Majoros - Regional Vicar for Delaware County/Pastor, Our Lady of Fatima Parish, Glenolden, Delaware County
Reverend Monsignor Michael P. McCormac -Pastor, St. Francis Cabrini Parish, Fairless Hills, Bucks County
Reverend Monsignor Joseph C. McLoone - Pastor, St. Katharine Drexel Parish, Chester, Delaware County
Reverend Monsignor Gerard C. Mesure - Chancellor of the Archdiocese/ Pastor, St. Gertrude Parish & St. Mary Parish, Conshohocken
Reverend Monsignor Joseph J. Nicolo - Pastor, St. Helena Parish, Blue Bell, Montgomery County
Reverend Monsignor Patrick E. Sweeney - Pastor, St. Eleanor Parish, Collegeville, Montgomery County


Donna Farrell
Director of Communications

Back to Top