Bookmark and Share

January 25, 2008


The Archdiocese of Philadelphia will begin Catholic Schools week by honoring six remarkable Catholic school graduates with the 2008 Distinguished Graduate Award for their professional and personal accomplishments. All of the honorees credit their success and achievements to a critical foundation in Catholic education. The theme of the evening is Promise Fulfilled.

Mr. Larry Mendte, Anchor, KYW-TV, will be the emcee for the evening. The Conwell-Egan Catholic High School Choir will perform and videos highlighting the honorees narrated by Mr. Harry Donahue, KYW NewsRadio 1060, will be shown.

6:00 p.m.
Monday, January 28, 2008
The Crystal Tea Room - Wanamaker Building
Broad and Juniper Streets

The six individuals being inducted into the Archdiocesan Hall of Fame are:

Cardinal John P. Foley - Elevated by Pope Benedict XVI on November 24, 2007
Holy Spirit Elementary School - 1953; St. Joseph's Preparatory School - 1957

Michael J. Crescenz - Corporal, U.S. Army Medal of Honor (posthumously)
Representing all Catholic School graduates who have made the ultimate sacrifice for our country.
St. Athanasius Elementary School - 1962; Cardinal Dougherty High School - 1966

Christopher J. Ferguson - Captain, U.S. Navy NASA Astronaut
St. Martha Elementary School - 1975; Archbishop Ryan High School - 1979

Ann P. Kearney-Cooke, Ph.D - Director, Cincinnati Psychotherapy Institute
Bishop Conwell High School - 1974

Christine Rouse - Founder & Executive Director, Acting Without Boundaries
Saints Coleman-John Neumann Elementary School - 1989; Villa Maria Academy - 1993

Robert H. Palestini, Ed.D - Dean Emeritus, St. Joseph's University
Our Lady of Peace Elementary School - 1955; St. James High School - 1959

Most Reverend Joseph P. McFadden, Auxiliary Bishop of Philadelphia, announced the names of the 2008 Inductees for the Archdiocesan Hall of Fame on October 29, 2007 at a press conference held at John W. Hallahan High School. These six individuals exemplify the Promise Fulfilled by Catholic Education in the Archdiocese of Philadelphia.

The 2008 Distinguished Graduate Awards will be streamed live on the Archdiocesan website
# # #

Meredith Wilson
Communications Specialist

Back to Top