Bookmark and Share

November 12, 2007


Awarded the F.C. Haab Science Scholarship

The Archdiocese of Philadelphia's Business Leadership Organized for Catholic Schools (BLOCS) Office, will hold its annual F.C. Haab Science Scholarship award ceremony. Through the generosity of F.C. Haab Company Inc., 20 Archdiocesan high school seniors who have demonstrated academic excellence in science will each be awarded a $1,450 scholarship. The ceremony and reception will be held:

3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Wednesday, November 14, 2007
Archdiocesan Office Center - Auditorium
222 North 17th Street

The F.C. Haab Science Scholarship stresses the growing importance of science education and related careers to Archdiocesan high school students. The scholarships are awarded to seniors who have high-ranking grade-point averages in science courses throughout their freshman, sophomore and junior years and have also demonstrated leadership qualities.

The Archdiocese of Philadelphia's Office of Catholic Education will be represented at the event by Stephen Pawlowski, Assistant Superintendent for Secondary Staff Relations.

The recipients of the F.C. Haab Science Scholarship are:
Valerie M. Fanelli - Archbishop John Carroll High School
Christian N. Chiaffa - Archbishop Ryan High School
William D. Binder - Archbishop Wood High School
Alex S. Cifelli - Bishop McDevitt High School
Erica Forgione - Bishop Shanahan High School
Jeffrey Negron - Cardinal Dougherty High School
Lindsey S. Aaron - Cardinal O'Hara High School
Austin D. Parrish - Conwell-Egan Catholic High School
Joseph R. Vozzelli - Father Judge High School for Boys
Brianna M. Brophy - St. Hubert Catholic High School for Girls
Baindu Saidu - SS. John Neumann and Maria Goretti Catholic High School
Alexandra M. Surdel - John W. Hallahan Catholic Girls' High School
Michael J. Elder - Kennedy-Kenrick Catholic High School
James E. Pipe - Lansdale Catholic High School
Carolyn Karolczyk - Little Flower Catholic High School for Girls
Robert L. Spurrier - Monsignor Bonner and Archbishop Prendergast High School
Terrell J. Oglesby - Northeast Catholic High School for Boys
Matthew S. Yosua - St. Pius X High School
Sergei A. Markov - Roman Catholic High School for Boys
Oluwatobi Ariyo - West Philadelphia Catholic High School

BLOCS would like to congratulate each recipient on their achievement and wish them continued success throughout their educational endeavors. A special thank you is extended to Mr. Frederick C. Haab, Sr. and his family for their ongoing generous support of this scholarship program.

BLOCS, under the direction of Deacon John K. Hunter, is committed to raising financial assistance for families that wish to provide their children with a value-based Catholic education, regardless of race, religion, or nationality. For information about Business Leadership Organized for Catholic Schools, please contact 215-587-3747 or visit

# # #

For more information about the Bicentennial Celebration please visit
Serving the People of God in the Beginning, Now and Always

Meredith Wilson
Communications Specialist

Back to Top