Bookmark and Share

September 19, 2003


The Archdiocese of Philadelphia will hold The Conferral of Papal Honors during Evening Prayer at the Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul in Philadelphia. Pope John Paul II recently conferred Pontifical Honors on 62 priests, deacons, religious brothers and sisters and lay men and women of the Archdiocese for their service to the Catholic Church. Anthony Cardinal Bevilacqua will preside.

Monday, September 22, 2003
6:45 p.m. Procession
7:00 p.m. Evening Prayer
Cathedral Basilica of Saints Peter and Paul
18th Street and Benjamin Franklin Parkway

Papal Honors are recommended by the Archbishop but awarded by the Holy Father. They include:

Protonotary Apostolic: This is the highest of the monsignor titles awarded by the Pope outside Rome.

Honorary Prelates of His Holiness, Chaplains of His Holiness: Since the 14th century, the title of Monsignor has been conferred on priests in recognition of their special service and fidelity to the Church.

Pontifical Order of Saint Gregory: Established by Pope Gregory XVI in 1831, the order is conferred on persons who are distinguished for personal character, reputation and their notable accomplishments benefitting society.

Papal Honor of Cross: Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice (for the Church and the Pontiff): Established in 1888 by Pope Leo X, it is awarded in recognition of special service to the Church and Papacy.

Benemerenti (to a well-deserving person) Medal: This Medal bears the name and likeness of the Holy Father along with the letter "B" on the opposite side.


Donna Farrell
Broadcast and Media Specialist

Back to Top