Bookmark and Share

May 1, 2001


Thirty-three full four-year scholarships and twenty-six partial four-year scholarships to the Archdiocesan high school of their choice will be presented to parochial school eighth-grade students by Bishop Martin N. Lohmuller, Retired Auxiliary Bishop of Philadelphia on

Friday, May 4, 2001
4:30 p.m.
St. Joseph University
Chapel of St. Joseph
Michael J. Smith, S.J., Memorial
City Line and Cardinal Avenues

The "Neumann Scholars Program," named after Saint John Neumann, the founder of Philadelphia's parochial school system, was developed and is underwritten by The Connelly Foundation. This Archdiocesan-wide scholarship program was launched to attract the highest academically-achieving parochial school students to Archdiocesan high schools. The thirty-three "Neumann Scholars" receive full tuition scholarships for four years, and the "Honorable Mention" students are awarded 50-percent four year tuition scholarships.

The list of Award winners are:

District I - Philadelphia
Elizabeth Supple, Neumann Scholar, Saint Francis de Sales
Shannon Harris, Neumann Scholar, Saint Francis de Sales
Malina Small, Neumann Scholar, Saint Francis de Sales
Chi-Ser Tran, Honorable Mention, Saint Francis de Sales

District III - Philadelphia
Frank Karvell, Neumann Scholar, Saint Mary Interparochial
Jaclyn McNamee, Neumann Scholar, Saint Laurentius
Stephanie Chan, Honorable Mention, Holy Redeemer
Chi Yeung Chan, Honorable Mention, Holy Redeemer
Janaye Tirotto, Honorable Mention, Saint Mary Interparochial

District IV - Philadelphia
Michele Milano, Neumann Scholar, Saint Richard
Sebastian Conforto, Neumann Scholar, Stella Maris
Mariann Gentile, Neumann scholar, Annunciation BVM
Daniel Mastropieri, Honorable Mention, Epiphany of Our Lord
Jessica Fee, Honorable Mention, Saint Monica

District V - Philadelphia
Molly Klusek, Neumann Scholar, Immaculate Heart of Mary
Peter William Day, Neumann Scholar, Our Mother of Consolation
Kevin Rodden, Honorable Mention, Holy Family

District VI - Philadelphia
Daniel O'Brien, Neumann Scholar, Holy Innocents
Eva Piatek, Neumann Scholar, Saint Adalbert
Patrick Adair, Neumann Scholar, Nativity BVM
Richard Rimkunas, Honorable Mention, All Saints
Thomas Neville, Honorable Mention, Saint Joan of Arc
Roman Senyszyn, Honorable Mention, Mother of Divine Grace

District VII - Philadelphia
Andrew Kerr, Neumann Scholar, Saint Cecilia
Stephanie Benedict, Neumann Scholar, Our Lady of Ransom
Richard Price, Neumann Scholar, Saint Leo
Sarah Mundy, Neumann Scholar, Saint Matthew
Philip Malaczewski, Neumann Scholar, Saint William
Meghan Anderson, Neumann Scholar, Saint Katherine of Siena
Colleen Meaney, Neumann Scholar, Saint Cecilia
Alex Baez, Neumann Scholar, Our Lady of Calvary
Erin McShea, Neumann Scholar, Saint Matthew

District VIII - Bucks Co.
Benjamin Haines, Neumann Scholar, Saint Jude
Natalie Corey, Neumann Scholar, Saint Joseph-Saint Robert
Christian Simms, Neumann Scholar , Our Lady of Good Counsel
Eric Snyder, Honorable Mention, Assumption BVM

District IX - Chester Co.
Brian Downey, Neumann Scholar, Saint Joseph (Dowingtown)
Sean McKie, Honorable Mention, Saints Sinon and Jude
Lauren Greene, Honorable Mention, Saints Philip and James

District X - Delaware Co.
Michael Harrison, Neumann Scholar, Saint Joseph (Aston)
Danielle Scoleri, Honorable Mention, Saint Madeline-Saint Rose
Kathleen Day, Honorable Mention, Our Lady of Fatima
Matthew Patterson, Honorable Mention, Saint Madeline-Saint Rose

District XI - Delaware Co.
James Smith, Neumann Scholar, Saint Pius X
Kathryn Lehigh, Neumann Scholar, Saint Francis of Assisi
Caroline Green, Honorable Mention , Saint Dorothy
Daniel Carr, Honorable Mention, Saint Charles Borromeo
Livia Fortunato, Honorable Mention, Saint Francis of Assisi

District XII - Montgomery Co.
Claire Zentgraf, Neumann Scholar, Saint Stanislaus
Timothy Lisowski, Honorable Mention, Saint Teresa of Avila
Andrew Galloway, Honorable Mention, Saint Peter
Natalie Kratz, Honorable Mention, Saint Maria Goretti

District XIII - Montgomery Co.
Brian Kilmartin, Jr., Neumann Scholar, Saint Paul
Tomas Arechabala, Honorable Mention, Mother of Divine Providence
Kaitlin Bonaskiewich, Honorable Mention, Epiphany of Our Lord

District XIV - Montgomery Co
Robert McHale, Neumann Scholar, Saint Albert the Great
Timothy Potens, Neumann Scholar, Presentation BVM
Jeffrey Long, Honorable Mention, Saint Hilary of Pointiers
John Tran, Honorable Mention, Our Lady Help of Christians

# # #

Marie Kelly
Associate Director

Back to Top